Great events coming up - Spoken Word with Omar Musa and A Novel Journey

Vale Alan Seymour OAM (1927-2015)

Alan, who was one of Australia’s best loved playwrights in the Twentieth Century, has died in Lulworth House, an aged care facility in Elizabeth Bay, Sydney. He was best known for his stage play The One Day of the Year which depicted a conflict between an Anzac veteran and his son, who writes an inflammatory and pejorative article about Anzac Day in his university newspaper. The play created a considerable stir at the time has since become a classic. Our condolonces to Alan's family and the wider family of Australian theatre and the AWG.

TWC Commends Return of Tasmania's Premier's Literary Prizes

Tasmania's biennial State Government literary prizes, which have been in existence in various forms since 2001, are back on the agenda for 2015 in news that comes as a great relief and celebration for the TWC and its members. The prizes will include $25,000 for the Tasmanian Book Prize for the best book with Tasmanian content, two $5000 prizes from the Univesity of Tasmania, and a new $5000 prize for young Tasmanian writers aged 35 or under - has been made possible by philanthropic donations.

Congratulations to inaugural TWC Subscribathon winners!

The Tasmanian Writers' Centre ran its inaugural Subscribathon this year with an incredible prize - a year's worth of workshops for one lucky winner. Well done to Kathryn Lomer for being our inaugural winner - Kathryn will spend 2015 in writerly style as a special guest to each and every TWC event for the year! Our runner-up is Michael Earnshaw, who has received an all-access pass to the Tasmanian Writers and Readers Festival in September at Hadley's Orient Hotel. A huge thank you to everyone for entering, and we look forward to running the Subscribathon again in 2016.

Spoken Word with Omar Musa




Saturday Mar 28

Don't miss this one! The Tasmanian Writers' Centre and the Tasmanian Poetry Festival have teamed up to bring a rare opportunity for Hobart poets, writers and audiences. High-profile street artist Omar Musa will deliver both an edgy, skills-based workshop and a raw, eye-opening performance. Anyone is welcome to join in the open-mic section of the evening. The rapper and poet from Queanbeyan, NSW, won the Australian Poetry Slam in 2008 and the Indian Ocean Poetry Slam in 2009. He's best known for his political hip-hop lyrics and poetry.

Book now via Eventbrite for the workshop ($30) and the performance ($10).
Venue: The Arts Factory, 456 Macquarie Street, South Hobart (venue sits between St Vincent de Paul and the Mobil service station).


                                                                                                                                THE TASMANIAN POETRY FESTIVAL



A Novel Journey - enrolments open for year-long novel-writing course

Was your New Year's Resolution for 2015 to finally write that novel? The Tasmanian Writers' Centre is delighted to announce A Novel Journey - nine sessions over the course of 2015 designed to guide you through writing your very own masterpiece.

A wide range of tutors will share their expertise in helping you craft your manuscript from start to finish. Topics include structure, narrative, character development, plot, setting/place, style/rhythm/pace, dialogue, polishing/reflecting and how to get published.

Cost for all nine sessions (to be held monthly on weekend dates) is $550 for TWC members and $700 for non-members. Single sessions are $77 for member and $99 for non-members.

Sessions are held by established and renowned authors and include Robyn Mundy (Hobart and Launceston), Cameron Hindrum (Launceston), Robyn Friend (Launceston) Dirk Flinthart (Launceston), Tansy Rayner Roberts (Hobart), Lian Tanner (Hobart) and Julie Hunt (Hobart).

The Launceston course will be held on Saturday afternoons, beginning on May 2 (CHANGED START DATE).

The Hobart course will be held on Sunday mornings, beginning on March 29.

To book your place on the Hobart course via TryBooking, click here and for the Launceston course, click here. For queries, email or phone (03) 6224 0029.